MIA 2023

Mathematics and Image Analysis

1-3 February 2023, Berlin, Germany

General Information Conference Program Registration Conference Location PhD Prize
PhD Prize

2023 French-German Mathematics in Imaging PhD Prize

The 2023 PhD prize winner is

Sebastian Neumayer (EPFL, Lausanne)

for his PhD thesis (conducted in TU Berlin)

Deformation and transport of image data

The prize is awarded to a young researcher with outstanding contribution to the field of Mathematics in Imaging. The prize is awarded every two years and is to be presented at the occasion of the Mathematical Image Analysis (MIA) conference series. The award consists of a certificate and a plenary talk at MIA conference. The award is attributed biannually, generally to a single winner, by the PhD Thesis Award jury.

- The first prize was awarded to Emmanuel Soubies at the MIA 2018 conference in Berlin.
- The second prize was awarded to Leon Bungert at the MIA 2021 conference in Paris (online).

The prize is organized and awarded by RT MIA, WIAS and SMAI SIGMA group.
Conditions for Application
To be considered for the award, the defence of the PhD thesis should take place between two editions of the MIA conference series. The applicants must also have carried out and defended their PhD in a French or German institution.
Applications must be submitted in full at the latest by Wednesday 30th November 2022 12am GMT. Their treatment is confidential.

Applications must contain:
  • The thesis manuscript in digital format
  • For those who wrote their PhD in French, an extended summary of 4 pages in English
  • A supporting letter from the PhD advisor(s)
  • The PhD referees reviews
  • A curriculum vitae of the student including publication list and conference presentations
All of the above documents are to be submitted as a single archive in digital to
The jury for the 2023 is composed of 4 members (alphabetical order):

Michael Ng (University of Hong Kong)
Yiqiu Dong (Technical University of Denmark)
Serena Morigi (University of Bologna)
Marcelo Pereyra (Heriot Watt University)

- A jury member cannot be a PhD advisor of a candidate for the award.
- The jury may ask for external and independent expertise when necessary.
- Decisions are taken by simple majority.
- In the event of a tie, the Chairman shall prevail.
- The jury’s decision cannot be appealed.
Important Dates
  • Application submission deadline : Wednesday 30th November 2022 12am GMT
  • Laureate announcement: January 2023
Webmaster: Kostas Papafitsoros    Original webdesign by Caroline Löbhard