MIA 2018

Mathematics and Image Analysis

15-17 January 2018, Berlin, Germany

General Information Conference Program Registration Conference Location PhD Prize
PhD Prize

French-German Mathematics in Imaging PhD Prize

The 2018 PhD prize winner is Emmanuel Soubies (EPFL, Lausanne). For more details about the prize, see here.

The prize is awarded to a young researcher with outstanding contribution to the field of Mathematics in Imaging. The prize is awarded every two years and is to be presented at the occasion of the Mathematical Image Analysis (MIA) conference series. The award consists of a certificate, financial recognition of 1000 €, and a plenary talk at MIA conference. The award is attributed biannually, generally to a single winner, by the PhD Thesis Award jury. The first prize will be awarded in January 2018 at the MIA conference in Berlin.

The prize is organized and awarded by GdR CNRS MIA, GAMM-SIP and SMAI SIGMA group.
Conditions for Application
To be considered for the award, the defence of the PhD thesis should take place between two editions of the MIA conference series. The applicants must also have carried out and defended their PhD in a French or German institution.
Applications must be submitted in full at the latest by Friday 17th November 2017 12am GMT. Their treatment is confidential.

Applications must contain:
  • The thesis manuscript in digital format
  • For those who wrote their PhD in French, an extended summary of 4 pages in English
  • A supporting letter from the PhD advisor(s)
  • The PhD referees reviews
  • A curriculum vitae of the student including publication list and conference presentations
All of the above documents are to be submitted as a single archive in digital to
A jury is selected by GdR CNRS MIA and GAMM-SIP. It is composed of 4 members (alphabetical order):

Alfred Bruckstein (Technion)
Raymond Chan (Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Selim Esedoglu (University of Michigan)
Rebecca Willett (University of Wisconsin)

A jury member cannot be a PhD advisor of a candidate for the award.
The jury may ask for external and independent expertise when necessary.
Decisions are taken by simple majority. In the event of a tie, the Chairman shall prevail. The jury’s decision cannot be appealed.
Important Dates
  • Application submission deadline : Friday 17th November 2017 12am GMT.
  • Laureate announcement: December 2017.
Organizing committee:

Jean-Francois Aujol (Université Bordeaux, France)
Martin Burger (University of Münster, Germany)
Albert Cohen (Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France)
Jalal Fadili (ENSICAEN, France)
Michael Hintermüller (Humboldt University and WIAS Berlin)
Gabriel Peyré (CNRS and Ecole Normale Supérieure, France)
Gabriele Steidl (TU Kaiserslautern and Fraunhofer ITWM, Germany)
Webmaster: Kostas Papafitsoros    Original webdesign by Caroline Löbhard