French-German Mathematics in Imaging PhD Prize

General Information PhD Prize winners
Organizing Committee
The prize is awarded to a young researcher with outstanding contribution to the field of Mathematics in Imaging. The prize is awarded every two years and is to be presented at the occasion of the Mathematical Image Analysis (MIA) conference series. The award consists of a certificate, financial recognition of 1000 €, and a plenary talk at the MIA conference. The award is attributed biannually, generally to a single winner, by the PhD Thesis Award jury.

The first prize will be awarded in January 2018 at the MIA 2018 conference in Berlin.

The prize is organized and awarded by GdR CNRS MIA, SMAI SIGMA group as well as the German image processing community.
The next application procedure will open at autumn 2019.


To be considered for the award, the defence of the PhD thesis should take place between two editions of the MIA conference series. The applicants must also have carried out and defended their PhD in a French or German institution.

Application package

Applications must contain:
  • The thesis manuscript in digital format
  • For those who wrote their PhD in French, an extended summary of 4 pages in English
  • A supporting letter from the PhD advisor(s)
  • The PhD referees reviews
  • A curriculum vitae of the student including publication list and conference presentations
A jury is selected by the organising committee and it is composed of 4 members.
A jury member cannot be a PhD advisor of a candidate for the award.
The jury may ask for external and independent expertise when necessary.
Decisions are taken by simple majority. In the event of a tie, the Chairman shall prevail.
The jury’s decision cannot be appealed.
Organizing Committee
Jean-Francois Aujol (Université de Bordeaux, France)
Martin Burger (University of Münster, Germany)
Albert Cohen (University of Göttingen, Germany)
Jalal Fadili (ENSICAEN, France)
Michael Hintermüller (Humboldt University and WIAS Berlin, Germany)
Gabriel Peyré (CNRS and Ecole Normale Supérieure, France)
Gabriele Steidl (TU Kaiserslautern and Fraunhofer ITWM, Germany)
Supported by
MIA Logo    SMAI
  WIAS    Humboldt University     DFG     ECmath